To Return or Not

I have a confession to make. I am a new cell phone addict. I am a total geek when it comes to them and I can identify all the newest phones, their features even if those phones are not in my network. I have never held onto a phone for more than a year and when I was in the family plan with my parents, whenever one of their contracts was up for renewal I would make them get the newest phone and swap SIM cards with them.

I bought an iPhone 3GS when it came out last June. When Apple announced the new iPhone 4, I feel in love with it immediately. I sulked and pouted until Mike said he would stand in line when it was released and try to get one for me. Of course he didn’t get one since people waiting all night for it. We did the next best thing and put my name on the waiting list. And I got it last week.

The phone is really amazing. The retina display screen is awesome to say the least. The camera is great with a flash and everything and I don’t need any digital camera with this phone. And though I love the new FaceTime app (for video conferencing) I don’t know anyone who has an iPhone 4. Then I started noticing that I was hanging up on calls. And sometimes I would people I am talking to hold and call someone else without me knowing it. On googling I found that many people faced this issue. And then Antennagate. While I did not seem to drop calls or face voice quality issues, I did actually see the bars reducing when I touched the spot on the left.

So I am in a dilemma here. Since I started blogging about personal finance and I want to be more responsible about money, I think I should return this phone and go back to my trusty iPhone 3GS. But the new phone is so nice and shiny. 🙂 I know that I do need to return the phone. Any reasons to convince me to return it would be awesome so that I don’t feel so bad returning it. So what do you think?

This entry was posted in Decisons, Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to To Return or Not

  1. LBC Teacher says:

    Well, you know the main reason-the money. But I would also say that waiting can give the company time to iron out the kinks in a product. If you wait, you’ll get it when it’s working well. I would also say that learning to be content with what you have and not always needing new toys is a good discipline in personal finance and in real life. (But I get the temptation, I really do.)

    • Ella says:

      It’s a beauty isn’t it? It’s tearing my heart out to give the phone back, but why should I have to pay $200 for a not perfect phone? Let this be my first step in personal finance. The $200 can go right back into my savings. And you are right, I am sure they will do something to fix this during the next product release.

      Thanks for being the voice of reason 🙂

  2. I think you should follow you intuition and return the phone. When you reach your finanical goals you can buy all the phones your heart desires guilt free.

    LBC Teacher has a good point about giving Apple time to work out the problems.

    • Ella says:

      That’s a good point, Apple will still be making phones when I pay off my student loans. I think I will stop by the Apple Store tomorrow. Thanks for the nudge 🙂

  3. As much of an iphone hater that I am (I own a macbook, but I LOVE my android) I have to admit that I was captivated by the look and features of the iphone4. However, I think it would be worthwhile to return it and wait until they get the whole reception thing worked out. For the price you pay you should get top quality, not a phone thats going to drop your calls here and there.

    • Ella says:

      >> For the price you pay you should get top quality
      Absolutely! I am not an Apple fanboy but I do love their products. The phone feels so good in my hands. The old Ella would have kept the phone, but not the PF blogger Ella 🙂 Thanks for the words of reason

  4. Airam says:

    I’d return it. Apple has perfected the art of planned obselence and there will be a new iPhone by this time next year so why should you stick with a brand new phone that is anything less than perfect.
    Having said that, you already bought the phone – how much more would it cost you to return the 4 and buy the 3GS again? Will you not just be throwing good money after bad so to speak?

    • Ella says:

      Yes, rumor has it that the white iPhone 4 is being delayed because they are trying to fix the antenna issue.

      I wouldn’t have to buy the 3GS again. My husband used to have a 3G and I had a 3GS. When I bought the iPhone 4, I gave him my 3GS and his iPhone 3 was just lying unused. So if I return this, we would just go back to our respective phones. But I need to check with AT&T about my contract.

  5. lifeasapurse says:

    I’m personally obsessed with iPhones, so I can understand where you’re coming from. I probably wouldn’t be disciplined enough to return it; good for you!

    • Ella says:

      I returned it! I love iPhones too, but I think the iPhone 4 is just a bad product, or maybe I got stuck with a bad handset. I am back on my iPhone 3GS now.

Leave a Reply

