The Good and the Bad

So I went to the Apple Store this weekend and returned the new iPhone 4. I felt bad initially, but I had been talking to my mother while driving to the store and my call dropped 3 times in a 5 minute call. At the Apple Store, the technician said that he could ty to fix that issue for me or he would swap it for a new phone, but I am proud to say that I was firm about not paying for something that is obviously faulty. And I am now back on my iPhone 3GS and $209 was transferred back to my card.

Unfortunately the Apple Store in inside a mall. I needed a nice dressy top to wear to a work event this week and thought I would look for that, since I was in the mall anyway and stepped in New York and Company. Big mistake. I ended up buying these pants

And this top

They had some sleepwear on sale for $4.99 each and so I grabbed a few of those either. It’s a steal considering they usually retail at $25. I was tempted to pick up some “jeggings”, but I am not sure if I want to wear them and so I held off.

My next big mistake was wandering into another favorite store The Limited. I saw this cute ruffle top and wanted to buy it immediatly

We then walked into Macys and Mike picked up a couple of Polo shirts.

Total Damage to the Wallet:

New York & Company – $95.60

Limited – $43.20

I know this looks terrible, spending almost $150 without any planning. But somehow I don’t feel so bad. Our work place has a very liberal dress code and I mostly wear just jeans/shorts (not short shorts of course) and a T shirt to work. I have very few nice pants and tops. It’s time for me to grow up and beef up my ratty wardrobe. But I don’t know how to work clothing into the budget. I don’t go shopping every month. So do I save up for clothing each month and then go on a shopping spree every few months? What do you think?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Good and the Bad

  1. You have so many options when it comes to saving for clothes. I chose to take $40 per month to go to new clothes. Sometimes I spend the whole $40, sometimes I have some left for next month and other times I don’t spend any. As time goes by money adds up and occasionally I will have a larger sum to spend.

    • Ella says:

      Yes I think that’s the best thing to do. And I should be tempted not to roll that clothing budget into something else when I fall short in another category

  2. Airam says:

    Agree with Broke By Choice – set a monthly goal, if you use it that month fine if you don’t, it gets added on to the next month.

    PS- Congratulations for staying firm on the iPhone4

    • Ella says:

      Yes absolutely. I think I need to become more serious about buying some good solid pieces and the only way to do that is by saving for it monthly.

      And it was really easy to return my iPhone because I started having a lot more trouble talking on the phone. Actually glad to be back on my 3GS. 🙂

Leave a Reply

