Interrupting Regular Service

‘coz it’s my birthday today! πŸ™‚ Mike went all out this year and got me a lot of stuff. Like this painting by a local artist of a beach in France. I love oil paintings, I always look to support local and though I’ve never been to France, I love everything French and lastly I love beaches (who doesn’t?). So how’s that for a 4-in-1! πŸ™‚ And my handbag has been slowly but steadily going to pieces and I’ve been on the lookout for a new one. And Mike surprised me with an awesome Coach handbag. He also got me some books by my favorite British author (ordered it from amazon.co.uk) and a DVD set of my favorite show – Arrested Development. It was one surprise after another. πŸ™‚

However in the spirit of being more responsible with money, I am wondering if I should return some gifts. After all, the best surprise was the one that cost the least money. He had ordered a cake from this awesome bakery and had me cut the cake at midnight. And he got my parents on Skype at that exact time (they live on the other coast) and it was sort of like a mini family party. πŸ™‚ I sure love my new bag, but I am thinking that it would be better to pay off a little more of my student loan with that money. And since we have Netflix, Arrested Development is available for instant streaming through the Wii. I love the painting and the books and definitely want to keep them. Mike doesn’t like this idea one bit and says that since these are gifts, I must not return them for monetary reasons. He didn’t use credit cards to buy them and this will not affect our monthly budget.

So what do you think I should do?

This entry was posted in Debt, Decisons, Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Interrupting Regular Service

  1. Alice says:

    People give you gifts out of love. It is insulting to have someone say they want to sell them to pay off debt. Especially close family/spouse/lover. Insulting.
    Ugly sweater from boss/aunt you never see/someone you don’t see often? Sell, sell, sell, or donate. A gift from someone who loves you and wants to bring you joy? That’s terrible. You owe him an apology for dissing his thoughtful gifts.

    • Ella says:

      Oh Alice, I feel terrible now. I am not dissing his gifts – they are very thoughtful and are things that I’ve wanted or need. And I love the bag and the DVD – I just thought that since we had decided to be more responsible with money, if this was too much to spend.

      I had talked to my mother about this and she responded the same way you did. So I had decided to keep the gifts and have been using the bag. πŸ™‚ It’s really awesome. Thanks for the comment

  2. Alice says:

    Awesome! Good luck on the spending less money front. For x-mas how about setting a limit of $50-100 for each others gifts?

Leave a Reply

