To Kindle or Not?

I have come into some money recently. No I did not win the lottery. And when I say money, it means a mix of gift cards and cash. The gift cards are mainly from credit card rewards and mypoints.com. Some of the cash is from selling unwanted stuff on eBay. I recently started selling on Amazon and have sold 1 book and 1 DVD till now. So all these monies are sitting in my “Fun” ING account right now. Mike has told me that all this is mine to do as I please. I sold some of my old game systems and comic book collection (Tintin anyone?) a few months back and used the money to susbside Mike’s new fancy camera. So he feels that it’s my turn to buy something pretty. Also I am the one who does all the work in selling everything I think this is mine. 🙂

I have enough to buy a Kindle and I would really want to buy one. It would be very useful because I love reading. But then I love books so much and ever since I was a kid I have always wanted to have a library. My parents relied on libraries when we were young and hardly ever bought us books. I now recognize that this is a very smart move, I used to yearn to buy new glossy books. But back then I probably read a lot more than I read now (thank you TV and video games). I don’t know if I will ever reread half the books I own now.

I keep going back and forth about getting a Kindle. When I go into a book store and see all those books in display, I feel like I should never move to ebooks. A Kindle can never replace the look and feel of a crisp new book and the smell. Ahhh! On the other hand, I see some of my friends using a Kindle and I want one too. I read a lot in bed, and it would be nice to hold something light.

So what do you think? Do I get one or sit on the money for now?

This entry was posted in Decisons, Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to To Kindle or Not?

  1. I got a Kindle for Christmas and absolutely love it. My only problem is that the esoteric sociology texts I want to read are not available for it. If you read normal stuff, this is not a problem, but I wanted to caution you that this could be a potential downfall of it!

    • Ella says:

      Most of the books I read are fiction and commonly available. But most of them cost $9.99 though. Gosh I am so torn about this decision. If only Mike could pick up a hint and buy this for me so that I don’t feel guilty. 🙂

  2. SS4BC says:

    I got one for my dad for Christmas and he’s in love. Couldn’t pull it away from him for five days. He has a huge library, but I think he’s beginning to realize the impracticality of owning so many books.

    • Ella says:

      You hit the nail on the head. Despite the romanticism of owning a huge library, the reality is there are only so many books I can hold onto (in my apartment at any rate). If I end up not buying a Kindle, I should look to sell/donate half the books I have.

      Thanks for your comment.

  3. Leah says:

    Hi Ella, I’m a new reader, but I just had to jump onto this post… because I have pondered the same question many a time over! My dad, brother-in-law and brother all have Kindles, and I thought they would be horrible to use for reading; but my dad lent me his while we were at the beach two summers ago, and I was incredibly surprised by the readability! The main appeal to me is that I would be able to have as many books in reach whenever I am out and about or traveling.

    Ultimately, though, this is what won out for me: 1. I live in a “car city” so I don’t have long commutes on a train, where having many books on Kindle would be such an awesome gift while riding (I might just have to suck it up on vacations and carry only two books instead of all the books I “might” be in the mood to read) 2. I love the feel of books in my hands, even if the Kindle does a great job of reproducing the look of pages. 3. I really like supporting my local used bookstore!

    (On the financial side: The library is always a good choice for a bit of money saving on reading!)

    • Ella says:

      Welcome to my blog!

      And there we go again! 🙂 Yes I agree with all the points you make. I drive to work too, so I don’t really need a Kindle for the commute. And I love visiting the local bookstores. The only place where the Kindle would make a difference is while reading while in bed or while eating. I think I can make do for now. And I should start using the library more. I go through phases where I am at the library a lot to where I never go.

  4. reader from germany says:

    At the moment I am looking at stuff a long time and thinking if I should get it or not. And if there are so many “cons” maybe you should wait. That doesn’t mean you can’t get one later. Another good thing is those kindles etc. are getting better and you will be able to choose from a lot of different producers.
    About libraries… I have heard that some libraries offer ebooks (in New Jersey I think).

    A little more confusion 😉
    You don’t have to “move to kindle” completely. You can still read library books or buy real books.
    I really understand wanting to have one. For christmas I carried too many books to my parent’s house and back again.

    • Ella says:

      You make very sound arguments. Unfortunately the Kindle does not allow you to borrow books, but the Nook does. I might do some more research when time comes to buy one.

      Yes, in case I do end up buying one or gifted one (my husband reads this blog lol) I am sure I will still checkout books from the library. I might end up buying some books from the local used bookstore that I frequent. The cost of books there is much cheaper than what Kindle books cost. And you can take it back when you are done and receive some small amount too.

  5. Daisy says:

    Ohh boy. I”ve always been torn about electronic reading devices. On one hand, sweet! Something to make my reading easier!
    on the other hand, i feel like it would hurt my eyes, you can’t get kindle books from the library, etc.
    I love reading, though, & I want to try a kindle one day just to see.

Leave a Reply

