New Phones

Were you all as shocked to hear about Steve Jobs? I felt really sad that day because the world has lost a creative genius. It didn’t feel like a celebrity death, it really hit me hard. Especially since I work in the technology sector, I feel that Steve Jobs was instrumental in pushing usability to the forefront. The specifications don’t matter as much how easy it is to use. RIP Steve Jobs! I hope Apple can make it without you.

Mike and I are getting the new iPhones. I know that buying new phones are not what you do when you you commit to paying off debt. But Mike has had his phone (iPhone 3G) for 3.5 years now and that’s a long time for a smartphone. His phone is literally falling apart and has the screen has a huge crack in it. Me, it’s a different story. I have had my iPhone 3GS for 2.5 years now. But it is in really good shape except for some scratches. So I could continue to use it for another year. But I don’t see why I have to. I checked eBay to see how much used iPhones were selling for and since mine is in good condition I think I would get atleast $150 for it. The new iPhone 4S costs $200 and that means I just pay $50 out of pocket. Since I pay the same amount for data plan anyway I don’t feel particularly guilty for getting a new phone. So Mike and I preordered the new phones and will get them on Oct 14th. Also when it comes to new phones I believe in getting them as soon as they come out so that you have bragging rights for one full year 🙂

This entry was posted in Decisons, Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Phones

  1. I can’t wait for Eric and I to get new phones! I’m definitely moving up to the Iphone, but I think we still have like another year to go…
    oh well. I like my phone (Droid) for now.

  2. Nice. I have an iPhone 4 through work, but I don’t know if I’d pay for it on my own. Hopefully by the time I need to get my own smartphone Apple will still keep the older generations around as a “cheap” iPhone.

Leave a Reply

